Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant for Households with On-Street Parking
UK Government, through the Office for Zero Emission Vehicles (OZEV) · United Kingdom: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The scheme is not available in the Channel Islands or Isle of Man.
The grant provides support towards the purchase and installation of an electric vehicle (EV) chargepoint at a residential property when a permanent cross-pavement charging solution, such as a cable channel, is also installed.
Summary
Deadline
31 Mar 2027
Updated
16 Oct 2026
The grant provides support towards the purchase and installation of an electric vehicle (EV) chargepoint at a residential property when a permanent cross-pavement charging solution, such as a cable channel, is also installed.
Eligibility
Applicant types
See eligibility requirements
Industries
Not applicable, as this is an individual/household grant.
Match funding
Not specified
Eligible applicants
Individuals who own or rent and live in a domestic residential property and do not have private and exclusive access to off-street parking. Applicants must have access to suitable on-street parking and own, lease, be assigned, or be the primary user of an eligible electric vehicle, or have ordered one.
Funding and scope
Benefit amount
75% of the cost of purchasing and installing the chargepoint, up to £500 per socket. The maximum grant increased from £350 to £500 from 1 April 2026. Each eligible household can apply for one socket. If the application was made before 1 April 2026, the maximum remains £350. (Find a Grant)
Total fund available
Not specified
Funding intensity
75% of the cost of purchasing and installing the chargepoint, up to £500 per socket. The maximum grant increased from £350 to £500 from 1 April 2026. Each eligible household can apply for one socket. If the application was made before 1 April 2026, the maximum remains £350. (Find a Grant)
Payment type
Not specified
Eligible expenses
Not specified
Ineligible costs
- Chargepoint installations completed before OZEV confirms eligibility; installations that are mandatory under law or planning/building requirements; duplicate claims; installations without the required permanent cross-pavement charging solution; and replacement or relocation of an existing chargepoint.
Application and risks
Application platform
GOV.UK Find & Apply for a Grant. Applicants use the "Start new application" button on the official grant page. (Find a Grant)
Competitiveness
Not scored
Decision timeline
The applicant first obtains any necessary permissions and contacts an OZEV-approved installer for a quote. The applicant submits the grant application and must wait for OZEV confirmation of eligibility before installation. After the chargepoint and cross-pavement solution are installed, the installer claims the grant on the applicant's behalf. OZEV pays the approved grant directly to the installer. (Find a Grant)
Assessment process
The applicant first obtains any necessary permissions and contacts an OZEV-approved installer for a quote. The applicant submits the grant application and must wait for OZEV confirmation of eligibility before installation. After the chargepoint and cross-pavement solution are installed, the installer claims the grant on the applicant's behalf. OZEV pays the approved grant directly to the installer. (Find a Grant)
Application sections
Not specified
Application components
- Application details; evidence of local highways authority consent for the cross-pavement solution; declaration that required planning permissions will be obtained; property details; eligible vehicle details; and installer information. Applicants may also need third-party permissions, such as permission from a landlord, freeholder or managing agent.
Timeline and partners
Opening date
18 Mar 2024
Project duration
Not specified
Project start
Not specified
Project end
Not specified
Additional guidance
Document research last revised 2026-08-18.
Key Organisational Requirements
The applicant must live at the residential property, not have private and exclusive off-street parking, install an eligible chargepoint together with a permanent cross-pavement charging solution, obtain consent from the local highways authority for the cross-pavement solution, obtain any required planning permission, and use an OZEV-approved installer and eligible chargepoint.
Property Requirements
The property must be domestic and the applicant must own or rent and live there. The property must have access to lawful, generally available on-street parking outside or near the home.
Vehicle Requirements
The applicant must own, lease, be assigned, or be the primary user of an eligible vehicle, or have ordered an eligible electric vehicle. The vehicle must be on the OZEV-approved electric vehicle list.
Installer Requirements
The installation must be completed by an OZEV-approved installer, and the chargepoint must be an eligible residential chargepoint model.
Monitoring Requirements
OZEV may audit selected installations. Audits can involve checking grant data, statements and records and may include an on-site inspection. Applicants and installers must provide requested information and allow access for inspections. Failure to cooperate may result in payment being withheld or reclaimed. (Find a Grant)
Objectives
To accelerate the uptake of EV chargepoints for people with accessible on-street parking.
Important Notes
The grant cannot be backdated and the chargepoint must not be installed before OZEV confirms eligibility. The cross-pavement solution must be permanent and cannot simply be a temporary cable cover or mat. The applicant must obtain local highways authority consent before installation and may also need planning and third-party permissions. The grant does not provide ownership of, exclusive use of, or reserved access to an on-street parking space and therefore does not guarantee that the applicant will always be able to park next to the chargepoint. The installer deducts the grant from the invoice before claiming it from OZEV. Funding is confirmed until 31 March 2027. (Find a Grant)
Application deadline in source document
31 March 2027, 11:00pm
Official source
Quick facts
- Status
- Open
- Deadline
- 31 Mar 2027
- Funding amount
- 75% of the cost of purchasing and installing the chargepoint, up to £500 per socket. The maximum grant increased from £350 to £500 from 1 April 2026. Each eligible household can apply for one socket. If the application was made before 1 April 2026, the maximum remains £350. (Find a Grant)
- Funding band
- Not specified
- Funding type
- Capital grant
- Payment type
- Not specified
- Audience
- See eligibility requirements
- Industry
- Not applicable, as this is an individual/household grant.
- Last updated
- 16 Oct 2026
- Published
- Not specified