Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant for Renters and Flat Owners
Office for Zero Emission Vehicles (OZEV), UK Government · England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. The Channel Islands and Isle of Man are excluded.
This grant helps eligible electric vehicle drivers who rent a residential property, or own and live in a flat, with the cost of purchasing and installing an eligible EV chargepoint at their residential property.
Summary
Deadline
31 Mar 2027
Updated
16 Oct 2026
This grant helps eligible electric vehicle drivers who rent a residential property, or own and live in a flat, with the cost of purchasing and installing an eligible EV chargepoint at their residential property.
Eligibility
Applicant types
See eligibility requirements
Industries
See eligibility requirements
Match funding
Not specified
Eligible applicants
Individuals who rent and live in a residential property, or own and live in a flat, subject to the scheme's property, parking and vehicle eligibility requirements
Funding and scope
Benefit amount
Up to £500 per eligible chargepoint socket
Total fund available
Not specified
Funding intensity
Not specified
Payment type
Not specified
Eligible expenses
- Cost of purchasing and installing an eligible EV chargepoint socket
Ineligible costs
Not specified
Application and risks
Application platform
Application is made through the Find a Grant / OZEV grant application system
Competitiveness
Not scored
Decision timeline
OZEV reviews eligibility before installation. Installation must not take place until eligibility has been confirmed
Assessment process
OZEV reviews eligibility before installation. Installation must not take place until eligibility has been confirmed
Application sections
Not specified
Application components
- Applicant provides property, vehicle and personal information together with required supporting documents and an authorised installer quote
Timeline and partners
Opening date
1 Apr 2022
Project duration
Not specified
Project start
Not specified
Project end
Not specified
Co-funders
- None stated
Collaboration rules
Not specified
Consortium requirements
Not specified
Additional guidance
Document research last revised 2026-08-14.
Grant Name
Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant for Renters and Flat Owners
Opportunity Type
Electric Vehicle / Residential Charging Infrastructure
Primary Sector / Area
Electric vehicles / Low-emission transport / Residential EV charging
Award / Funding Rate
75% of the cost of purchasing and installing an eligible chargepoint, up to £500
Number of Awards
Not specified
Funding Period
Funding is currently confirmed until 31 March 2027
Eligible Property
An existing domestic residential property occupied by the applicant. Applicants must either rent the property or own and live in an eligible flat.
Property Restrictions
Unoccupied properties and properties still under construction are not eligible
Parking Requirements
The applicant must have a designated, private, clearly defined off-street parking space that they have a legal right to use and can access at all times
Vehicle Requirements
Applicant must have an eligible electric vehicle. Eligibility can include registered keepers, qualifying leaseholders, certain company-car users and eligible vehicles on order
Vehicle Lease Requirement
Where applicable, the vehicle lease must generally be for at least six months
Permission Requirements
Required landlord, freeholder or property-manager permission must be obtained before applying
Key Organisational / Applicant Requirements
Applicant must use an OZEV-authorised installer and an eligible residential chargepoint model, meet property and parking criteria, and have an eligible vehicle
Ineligible / Restricted Costs
Installations completed before eligibility is confirmed; infrastructure already funded through another relevant grant; replacement of existing grant-funded charging infrastructure; and installations required by building regulations or planning conditions
Match Funding / Applicant Contribution
Applicant is responsible for costs not covered by the grant. The grant covers 75% of eligible purchase and installation costs up to £500
Application Method
Applicant-led application. The customer must submit their own application after obtaining a quote from an OZEV-authorised installer
Required Documents – Renters
Signed and dated tenancy agreement; recent utility bill showing applicant name and installation address; required landlord/property-manager permission; OZEV-authorised installer quote
Required Documents – Flat Owners
Recent utility bill showing applicant name and property address; required freeholder/property-manager permission; OZEV-authorised installer quote
Additional Vehicle Documentation
Vehicle order form may be required where the eligible vehicle is on order
Indicative Assessment Time
Published estimate of up to 10 working days for applications and claims
Installation Requirement
Installation must be completed by an OZEV-authorised installer using an eligible chargepoint
Claim Process
After installation, the authorised installer submits the grant claim and supporting evidence to OZEV
Payment Process
The grant amount is deducted from the customer's invoice. Once the claim is approved, OZEV pays the installer
Installation Evidence
Installer may need to provide photographs of the installed chargepoint, model/serial number, associated parking space and wider installation location
Monitoring Requirements
OZEV may audit the application and installation before or after payment and may request supporting records or conduct site inspections
Compliance Requirements
Applicants and installers must provide accurate information and cooperate with OZEV checks. Funding may be withheld or recovered where scheme rules are breached
Objectives
To accelerate the uptake of electric vehicle chargepoints for people living in flats and rental accommodation
Latest Published Scheme Statistics
As at 1 April 2026: 24,759 sockets funded, including 10,648 during the preceding 12 months, with £8.6 million in grant funding awarded
Official Application / Grant Page
Find a Grant – Electric Vehicle Chargepoint Grant for Renters and Flat Owners
Important Notes
Maximum support increased from £350 to £500 from 1 April 2026. The application process also changed from installer-led to applicant-led from 1 April 2026. Applicants must receive confirmation of eligibility before installation begins.
Last Verified
14 August 2026
Application deadline in source document
31 March 2027 at 11:59pm
Official source
Quick facts
- Status
- Open
- Deadline
- 31 Mar 2027
- Funding amount
- Up to £500 per eligible chargepoint socket
- Funding band
- Not specified
- Funding type
- Grant
- Payment type
- Not specified
- Audience
- See eligibility requirements
- Industry
- See eligibility requirements
- Last updated
- 16 Oct 2026
- Published
- Not specified