Skip to main content
Back to grants dashboard
OpenUpdated 16 Oct 2026

Plug-in Van and Truck Grant (PIVG / PITrG)

Department for Transport (DfT), through the Office for Zero Emission Vehicles (OZEV). (GOV.UK) · England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. Additional subsidy requirements apply to some truck purchases in Northern Ireland. Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey are excluded. (GOV.UK)

The schemes reduce the upfront cost of eligible new zero-emission vans and trucks by providing a government-funded discount at the point of purchase. They are intended to narrow the cost difference between zero-emission commercial vehicles and conventional vehicles and accelerate the transition of commercial fleets to zero-emission transport. (GOV.UK)

Summary

Deadline

Rolling

Updated

16 Oct 2026

The schemes reduce the upfront cost of eligible new zero-emission vans and trucks by providing a government-funded discount at the point of purchase. They are intended to narrow the cost difference between zero-emission commercial vehicles and conventional vehicles and accelerate the transition of commercial fleets to zero-emission transport. (GOV.UK)

Eligibility

Applicant types

See eligibility requirements

Industries

See eligibility requirements

Match funding

Not specified

Funding and scope

Benefit amount

The government grant is deducted from the vehicle purchase price by the seller. OZEV subsequently reimburses approved manufacturers or their UK representatives following validation of the grant claim. (GOV.UK)

Total fund available

Not specified

Funding intensity

The government grant is deducted from the vehicle purchase price by the seller. OZEV subsequently reimburses approved manufacturers or their UK representatives following validation of the grant claim. (GOV.UK)

Payment type

Not specified

Eligible expenses

  • The grant is specifically a contribution toward the purchase price of an eligible new zero-emission van or truck. It is not a general business-cost or conversion-cost grant. (GOV.UK)

Ineligible costs

Not specified

Application and risks

Application platform

Zero Emission Vehicle Grant portal, managed by DVLA on behalf of OZEV. (GOV.UK)

Competitiveness

Not scored

Decision timeline

Not specified

Assessment process

Not specified

Timeline and partners

Opening date

Not specified

Project duration

Not specified

Project start

Not specified

Project end

Not specified

Additional guidance

Document research last revised 2026-08-14.

Grant Name

Zero Emission Van Grant (ZEVG) and Zero Emission Truck Grant (ZETG). The Find a Grant record uses the older title “Plug-in Van and Truck Grant”, but current OZEV guidance uses the Zero Emission Van Grant and Zero Emission Truck Grant names. (GOV.UK)

Scheme Administrator

OZEV oversees the schemes. The Vehicle Certification Agency (VCA) assesses vehicle-model applications on behalf of OZEV, while the grant portal is designed and managed by the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Agency (DVLA) on OZEV's behalf. (GOV.UK)

Opportunity Type

Zero-emission commercial vehicles / clean transport / fleet decarbonisation

Primary Sector / Area

Transport, logistics, freight, commercial fleets and zero-emission road transport. (GOV.UK)

Current Scheme Period

The updated ZEVG/ZETG subsidy scheme is stated to run from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2030, or until the available budget is exhausted. (GOV.UK)

Current Scheme Deadline

31 March 2030, subject to available budget and any future changes made by OZEV. The scheme can close earlier if budgets are exhausted. (GOV.UK)

Important Deadline Correction

Your sheet's 31 March 2026 deadline is outdated. That date related to the previous funding period. The successor/updated ZEVG and ZETG scheme began on 1 April 2026 and is planned to operate to 31 March 2030. (GOV.UK)

Original / Predecessor Scheme

The Plug-in Van Grant was originally introduced in 2012 and extended to trucks/HGVs in 2016. The current ZEVG/ZETG scheme builds on those earlier grants. (GOV.UK)

Total Scheme Budget

£877 million for the ZEVG/ZETG scheme running from 1 April 2026 to 31 March 2030, according to OZEV information assessed in the March 2026 Subsidy Advice Unit report. (GOV.UK)

Wider Government Funding Context

In March 2026 the government announced a wider £1 billion package to support electric commercial vehicles and charging infrastructure, encompassing the van/truck grants and Depot Charging Scheme. This should not be confused with the £877 million ZEVG/ZETG scheme budget. (GOV.UK)

Maximum Award – Overall

Up to £81,000 per eligible truck in the heaviest weight category, subject to the applicable percentage cap and Northern Ireland rules. (GOV.UK)

Small Van Grant

Vans weighing less than 2,500kg GVW: up to 35% of the purchase price, capped at £2,500. (GOV.UK)

Large Van Grant

Vans weighing 2,500kg to 4,250kg GVW: up to 35% of the purchase price, capped at £5,000. (GOV.UK)

Truck Grant – 4.25 to 12 tonnes

The lower of £15,000 or 20% of the upfront vehicle cost. These are generally N2 vehicles. (GOV.UK)

Truck Grant – 12 to 18 tonnes

The lower of £37,000 or 40% of the upfront vehicle cost in Great Britain. For large enterprises in Northern Ireland, the percentage cap is 30%. (GOV.UK)

Truck Grant – 18 to 26 tonnes

The lower of £52,000 or 40% of the upfront vehicle cost in Great Britain. For large enterprises in Northern Ireland, the percentage cap is 30%. (GOV.UK)

Truck Grant – Over 26 tonnes

The lower of £81,000 or 40% of the upfront vehicle cost in Great Britain. For large enterprises in Northern Ireland, the percentage cap is 30%. (GOV.UK)

Northern Ireland – SMEs

SMEs in Northern Ireland can receive the same truck percentage caps as businesses in England, Scotland and Wales: 20% for trucks over 4.25 to 12 tonnes and up to 40% for the other truck categories, subject to the category cash caps. (GOV.UK)

Northern Ireland – Large Enterprises

Large enterprises in Northern Ireland are limited to 20% of the cost for trucks over 4.25 to 12 tonnes and 30% for the heavier truck categories. (GOV.UK)

Northern Ireland SME Evidence

Northern Ireland SMEs must provide a signed declaration confirming SME status for relevant truck orders. The declaration must include the registered address, UK VAT number and confirmation that the enterprise meets the applicable SME definition. (GOV.UK)

Eligible Applicants / End Customers

Private individuals, businesses and organisations buying or leasing eligible vehicles can benefit. Customers do not submit the grant application themselves. (GOV.UK)

Leased Vehicles

Leasing is permitted. For lease orders, grant limits apply to the actual end customer, not the leasing company. Dealers/lease companies must record and verify the end customer's details. (GOV.UK)

Eligible Vehicles

Only new zero-emission vans and trucks approved by OZEV and appearing on the current government eligible-vehicle list can receive the grant. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Categories

Eligible commercial vehicles must fall within the relevant N1, N2 or N3 vehicle categories and satisfy the detailed technical requirements. (GOV.UK)

Tailpipe Emissions Requirement

Eligible vans and trucks must have 0g CO₂/km tailpipe emissions. (GOV.UK)

Zero-Emission Range Requirement

Eligible vehicles must be capable of travelling at least 60 miles (96km) with zero emissions. (GOV.UK)

Minimum Speed Requirement

Vans and trucks must generally be capable of at least 50mph (80km/h). Refuse collection vehicles must generally be capable of at least 40mph (64km/h). (GOV.UK)

Eligible Technologies

Current vehicle approval documentation accommodates battery-electric vehicles and hydrogen fuel-cell electric vehicles, provided all applicable scheme criteria are met. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Warranty Requirement

Light-duty vehicles must generally have a warranty of at least 3 years or 60,000 miles, whichever comes first. Heavy-duty vehicles must generally have either 3 years/60,000 miles or a 2-year unlimited-mileage warranty. (GOV.UK)

Battery Warranty / Degradation Requirement

For battery-electric vehicles, the scheme expects at least 80% battery capacity for the initial 3 years/60,000 miles and 70% for 5 years/100,000 miles, subject to the detailed warranty rules. Where the battery warranty is under five years, customers must be offered an option to extend it by at least two years. (GOV.UK)

Safety Requirements

Vehicles must satisfy applicable crash safety, electrical safety and, for fuel-cell vehicles, hydrogen safety requirements as part of OZEV/VCA vehicle approval. (GOV.UK)

First Registration Requirement

The grant can only be claimed for new vans and trucks at first registration. (GOV.UK)

Second-Hand Vehicles

Not eligible. Because the grant is only available for new vehicles at first registration, used/second-hand vehicles cannot receive a new ZEVG/ZETG grant. (GOV.UK)

Pre-Registration Conversions

Potentially eligible, subject to scheme approval and technical requirements. (GOV.UK)

Post-Registration Conversions

Not eligible. (GOV.UK)

Registration Requirement

Vehicles must be registered to a UK address and licensed for use on UK roads. (GOV.UK)

VAT Requirement

The customer must have paid UK VAT on the vehicle. Claims for vehicles under personal export, new-means-of-transport and direct-export arrangements are excluded. (GOV.UK)

Van Grant Limit per Customer

Each business, organisation or individual may receive up to 1,500 Zero Emission Van Grants per financial year. (GOV.UK)

Truck Grant Limit per Customer

Each business, organisation or individual may receive up to 100 Zero Emission Truck Grants per financial year across all truck weight categories. (GOV.UK)

Financial Year for Limits

Customer limits operate from 1 April to 31 March each year. (GOV.UK)

Linked Enterprises

Linked enterprises meeting the scheme's definition of a single undertaking are treated as one business for application of the annual grant caps. (GOV.UK)

Truck Demonstrator Limit

Manufacturers are limited to 5 zero-emission truck demonstrator orders per financial year, across all truck weight categories combined. (GOV.UK)

Application Method – Customer

No direct customer application. The customer buys or leases an eligible vehicle from a participating seller and receives the grant as a point-of-sale discount. (GOV.UK)

Application Method – Dealer

An authorised dealer enters the vehicle and customer information into the grant portal before registration. (GOV.UK)

Application Method – Manufacturer

Vehicle manufacturers or manufacturer-approved third parties must first apply to OZEV/VCA to have a vehicle model approved for the scheme. Once approved and the required manufacturer agreement is signed, the vehicle is added to the eligible list and grant portal. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Approval Application Components

Manufacturer applications include vehicle type-approval information, make/model/variants, technology, energy-storage information, GVW, recommended retail price, zero-emission range, emissions evidence, warranty information and applicable crash/electrical/hydrogen-safety evidence. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Approval Forms

Form A obtains a scheme number; Form B is used for complete/completed vehicles; Form C is used for incomplete vehicles; and Form D is required for applicable final-stage multi-stage builds. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Approval Decision Time

VCA states that it aims to decide manufacturer vehicle-approval applications within 2 months after all required documents have been received, although complex applications or requests for additional technical evidence may take longer. (GOV.UK)

Vehicle Approval Decision Process

VCA assesses the technical evidence. If the vehicle passes, VCA reports to OZEV; OZEV issues the relevant offer/agreement; once accepted, the model is placed on the official eligible-vehicle list and grant portal. (GOV.UK)

Claim Timing

The dealer's grant order must be successfully saved on the portal before the vehicle is registered with DVLA. Retrospective claims after registration are not permitted. (GOV.UK)

Order Completion Period

Current portal guidance provides a temporary 12-month period from the order date for the vehicle to be registered and delivered while retaining the advertised grant level, provided the relevant portal conditions are met. OZEV reserves the right to change this temporary period. (GOV.UK)

Grant Guarantee

A grant is not guaranteed merely because a vehicle has been ordered; the order must be validated through the grant portal. Once correctly validated, the grant level is generally secured at the rate advertised when the order was placed, subject to scheme conditions. (GOV.UK)

Payment Process

OZEV pays approved grant claims directly to vehicle manufacturers or their UK representatives. Manufacturers arrange reimbursement with their dealers. The end customer receives the benefit through the reduced purchase price. (GOV.UK)

Payment Frequency

OZEV operates manufacturer grant-payment runs monthly. (GOV.UK)

Audit Requirements

The grant portal currently selects 5% of validated orders for audit. Dealers selected for audit must supply supporting invoices and normally respond within 28 consecutive days. (GOV.UK)

Audit Checks

Audits can verify vehicle/customer details, invoice price, grant amount, eligible model/variant and that optional extras have been correctly separated from the grant calculation. (GOV.UK)

Ineligible Costs / Purchases

Second-hand vehicles, post-registration conversions, vehicles not approved under the scheme, claims created after registration and vehicles intended for excluded export arrangements are not eligible. (GOV.UK)

Current Eligible Vehicle List

GOV.UK maintains live separate lists for eligible vans and trucks. Your website should link users to those live lists rather than reproduce a static list, because OZEV adds and removes vehicle models over time. (GOV.UK)

Current Policy Objective

Reduce the upfront cost of commercial zero-emission vehicles, make them accessible to a broader range of purchasers, increase their uptake, support fleet decarbonisation and reduce greenhouse-gas, air-pollution and noise emissions. (GOV.UK)

Projected Scheme Reach

OZEV's assessment projected that the 2026–2030 scheme could support approximately 270,000 zero-emission vans and 19,000 zero-emission HGVs, although the report explicitly states that actual numbers will depend on future grant-design decisions and market developments. (GOV.UK)

Historical Van Grant Statistic

The government reported in February 2025 that the predecessor Plug-in Van Grant had helped support the sale of more than 80,000 electric and zero-emission vans since launch. This is a historical figure, not a current 2026 total. (GOV.UK)

Manufacturer / Technical Enquiries

ZEGrants@dft.gov.uk for relevant OZEV manufacturer enquiries; ZEApprovals@vca.gov.uk for new vehicle-model applications and technical enquiries concerning open applications. (GOV.UK)

Dealer / Portal Enquiries

Dealers should normally contact their manufacturer first; unresolved grant-portal queries can be sent to ZEvehiclegrants@dvla.gov.uk. (GOV.UK)

Important Notes

Grant levels and vehicle eligibility criteria are reviewed regularly and can change at OZEV's discretion. Funding is limited. Only approved models qualify, and customers should confirm current eligibility and grant value with their seller before purchase. (GOV.UK)

Last Verified

14 August 2026

Official source

Read the funding authority guidance

Quick facts

Status
Open
Deadline
Rolling
Funding amount
The government grant is deducted from the vehicle purchase price by the seller. OZEV subsequently reimburses approved manufacturers or their UK representatives following validation of the grant claim. (GOV.UK)
Funding band
Not specified
Funding type
Purchase grant / vehicle subsidy, provided as a discount at the point of sale. It is not paid directly to the end customer. (GOV.UK)
Payment type
Not specified
Audience
See eligibility requirements
Industry
See eligibility requirements
Last updated
16 Oct 2026
Published
Not specified