Post-16 and construction skills capacity funding: 2026 to 2030 in non-devolved areas
Department for Education (DfE) · England, in non-devolved areas only
This funding programme provides £287 million in capital funding to increase post-16 education capacity and construction training places in non-devolved areas of England. It combines Post-16 Capacity Funding (P16CF) and Construction Skills Capacity Funding (CSCF). (Find a Grant)
Summary
Deadline
17 Apr 2026
Updated
16 Oct 2026
This funding programme provides £287 million in capital funding to increase post-16 education capacity and construction training places in non-devolved areas of England. It combines Post-16 Capacity Funding (P16CF) and Construction Skills Capacity Funding (CSCF). (Find a Grant)
Eligibility
Applicant types
See eligibility requirements
Industries
Education and construction skills training sectors
Match funding
Not specified
Eligible applicants
Further education colleges established as further education corporations, designated institutions, sixth form colleges, and academies providing sixth form education only. (Find a Grant)
Funding and scope
Benefit amount
£287 million national capital funding allocated through a competitive bidding round, comprising £191 million P16CF and £96 million CSCF. (Find a Grant)
Total fund available
£287 million, comprising £191 million Post-16 Capacity Funding and £96 million Construction Skills Capacity Funding (Find a Grant)
Funding intensity
£287 million national capital funding allocated through a competitive bidding round, comprising £191 million P16CF and £96 million CSCF. (Find a Grant)
Payment type
Not specified
Eligible scope
Expansion of post-16 education capacity where additional learner capacity is needed, and expansion of construction skills provision to address course waiting lists and employer skills needs. (Find a Grant)
Eligible expenses
- Capital investment to expand education and training facilities and capacity
Ineligible costs
Not specified
Application and risks
Application platform
DfE eTendering Portal (Jaggaer)
Competitiveness
Not scored
Decision timeline
Competitive assessment followed by funding decisions; applicants were notified of outcomes in July 2026. (Find a Grant)
Assessment process
Competitive assessment followed by funding decisions; applicants were notified of outcomes in July 2026. (Find a Grant)
Application sections
Not specified
Application components
- Online application through the Jaggaer portal, including information required to demonstrate capacity needs, project plans and relevant supporting information.
Required documents
Not specified
Appendices
Not specified
Assessment criteria
- Applications were assessed against the purposes and objectives of the funds, including capacity need, skills demand, project considerations and value for money, as set out in the applicant guidance. (Find a Grant)
Timeline and partners
Opening date
10 Feb 2026
Project duration
Not specified
Project start
Not specified
Project end
Not specified
Additional guidance
Document research last revised 2026-08-24.
Next Opening Date
No next opening date has been announced in the official sources checked.
Key Organisational Requirements
Applications must relate to eligible sites in areas where the relevant funding has not been devolved to Strategic Authorities. (Find a Grant)
Objectives
To provide additional 16 to 19 capacity where demographic growth creates insufficient existing capacity; ensure new provision supports local and national skills needs; increase construction skills provision; and deliver value for money and sustainable investment. (Find a Grant)
Important Notes
Registration on the Jaggaer portal was required by 27 February 2026. Applications had to be submitted by 5:00pm on 17 April 2026, and late applications were not accepted. The funding round applied only to eligible sites in non-devolved areas. (Find a Grant)
Official Sources
Find a Grant: Post-16 and construction skills capacity funding 2026 to 2030
Application deadline in source document
17 April 2026, 5:00pm
Official source
Quick facts
- Status
- Closed
- Deadline
- 17 Apr 2026
- Funding amount
- £287 million national capital funding allocated through a competitive bidding round, comprising £191 million P16CF and £96 million CSCF. (Find a Grant)
- Funding band
- Not specified
- Funding type
- Grant
- Payment type
- Not specified
- Audience
- See eligibility requirements
- Industry
- Education and construction skills training sectors
- Last updated
- 16 Oct 2026
- Published
- Not specified