Workplace Charging Scheme (WCS)
UK Government, Office for Zero Emission Vehicles (OZEV) · United Kingdom, excluding the Channel Islands and Isle of Man
The Workplace Charging Scheme (WCS) provides financial support to organisations for the purchase and installation of electric vehicle (EV) chargepoints at workplaces. It supports the transition to electric vehicles by expanding workplace charging facilities. (Find a Grant)
Summary
Deadline
31 Mar 2027
Updated
16 Oct 2026
The Workplace Charging Scheme (WCS) provides financial support to organisations for the purchase and installation of electric vehicle (EV) chargepoints at workplaces. It supports the transition to electric vehicles by expanding workplace charging facilities. (Find a Grant)
Eligibility
Applicant types
See eligibility requirements
Industries
All sectors with eligible workplace parking facilities
Match funding
Applicant must fund any remaining installation costs not covered by the grant
Eligible applicants
Businesses, charities, public sector organisations and small accommodation businesses
Funding and scope
Benefit amount
Covers up to 75% of eligible purchase and installation costs, including VAT, capped at £500 per socket from 1 April 2026; maximum 40 sockets across all sites per applicant. (Find a Grant)
Total fund available
Not specified
Funding intensity
Covers up to 75% of eligible purchase and installation costs, including VAT, capped at £500 per socket from 1 April 2026; maximum 40 sockets across all sites per applicant. (Find a Grant)
Payment type
Not specified
Eligible expenses
Not specified
Ineligible costs
- Installations required by building regulations or planning conditions; previously funded installations; customer-only parking facilities
Application and risks
Application platform
Workplace Charging Scheme online application portal
Competitiveness
Not scored
Decision timeline
Voucher issued within 5 working days if the application is approved. The installer claims the grant after installation. (Find a Grant)
Assessment process
Voucher issued within 5 working days if the application is approved. The installer claims the grant after installation. (Find a Grant)
Application sections
Not specified
Application components
- Online application form, business verification, site details, parking details and installer information
Required documents
Not specified
Appendices
Not specified
Assessment criteria
- Eligibility compliance, suitable site and parking arrangements, use of authorised installer and eligible chargepoint, and compliance with scheme rules
Decision risks
Applications may be rejected if eligibility requirements are not met. Grants may be reclaimed where installations or claims do not comply with scheme requirements
Timeline and partners
Opening date
1 Apr 2022
Project duration
Not specified
Project start
Not specified
Project end
Not specified
Additional guidance
Document research last revised 2026-08-14.
Key Organisational Requirements
Applicant must own the site or have permission from the landowner; must have dedicated off-road parking associated with the workplace; parking must be suitable for chargepoint installation; an authorised installer and eligible chargepoint must be used. (Find a Grant)
Governance Requirements
Compliance with subsidy control rules and applicable safety and regulatory requirements
Monitoring Requirements
Installations may be audited and documentation or site access may be required
Industry Leverage Expectation
Not specified
Environmental & EDI Requirements
Supports the transition to low-emission transport and expansion of sustainable workplace charging infrastructure
Important Notes
Funding is confirmed until 31 March 2027 and the grant is currently open. From 1 April 2026, the maximum grant increased from £350 to £500 per socket. Successful applicants receive a voucher valid for 180 days, and the installer must claim the grant after installation. (Find a Grant)
Application deadline in source document
31 March 2027, 11:59pm
Official source
Quick facts
- Status
- Verification Required
- Deadline
- 31 Mar 2027
- Funding amount
- Covers up to 75% of eligible purchase and installation costs, including VAT, capped at £500 per socket from 1 April 2026; maximum 40 sockets across all sites per applicant. (Find a Grant)
- Funding band
- Not specified
- Funding type
- Capital grant
- Payment type
- Not specified
- Audience
- See eligibility requirements
- Industry
- All sectors with eligible workplace parking facilities
- Last updated
- 16 Oct 2026
- Published
- Not specified